University of Akron Home Page
College of Engineering Home Page
Civil Engineering Department

Spring 2009 Classes

Previous Website

NSF REU (Research Experiences for Undergraduates)
Program in Smart Structures

On-line Application Available

2010-2011 Assistantships

The Department of Civil Engineering at the University of Akron is pleased to announce that it has a number of teaching and research assistantships available for full-time graduate students during the
academic year 2010-2011. Under these assistantships, the department will pay tuition and provide a modest stipend (about $13,500 per year for master's students and $16,600 per year for PhD students) in return for specified hours of research work. Additional scholarships and fellowships can be provided on a case by case basis.

Interested students are encouraged to contact Kim Stone at, Dr. Ala R. Abbas at, or Dr. Ernie Pan at

For more information about admission and application procedures, please
consult the graduate school website.

2011-2012 Scholarships
Download the following files

Civil Engineering students received the following Academic Scholarships for the 2009-2010 school year:

ARCADIS Scholarship, Chalmers Brown Endowment Fund Scholarships, Cavanaugh Building Corporation Scholarship, Future of Civil Engineering Scholarship Fund, GPD Associates Scholarships, GPD Employees’ Scholarship, HR Gray Scolarship, Kenmore Construction Company Scholarship, McCabe Engineering Corporation Scholarship, Levi A. MacDonald Scholarship, Daniel Posilovich Scholarship, The Ruhlin Company Scholarship, Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC) Scholarship, Summit Construction Company Scholarship, Summit Testing & Inspection Company Scholarship, Jones-Stucker Ltd.,Inc. Scholarship, Timmerman Geotechnical Group Scholarship, Triggs Technologies Scholarship, and the URS Corporation Scholarship.


The Department of Civil Engineering and The College of Engineering would also like to thank the following patrons who have made individual contributions to our department.

Akron Bureau of Engineering, America Electric Power Co., Anonymous, ARCADIS, John and Joann Barnhouse, Scott and Joanne Armstrong, Edward and Wendy Block, Robert and Debra Bunnell, BWL Engineering, Travis and Debora Capper, Cavanaugh Building Corporation, Mike and Cathy Cavanaugh, David and Laurel Celik, Joseph and Mary Jo Ciuni, Charles Corns and Jeanne Jackson-Corns, Bradley and Martha Cramer, Mohamed Darwish, Maria and Stuart Davis, David and Laurel Celik, Ralph and Mrs.Coletta, Jeffrey Evans, Walter Fielding, David and Deborah Frank, Edward Franks, Robert and Heidi Frutchey, David and Natasha Gasper, General Electric Foundation, Glen Stephens,Inc., GPD Associates, GPD Associates Employees, David and Susan Granger, Harold and Elisabeth Hajoway, Robert and Cristina Hamilton, Gene Hill, Michael and Christine Hobbs, Robert and Catherine Hochevar, Martin and Jackie Joliat, Erick and Christine Jonke, Pawan Khaitan, Jones-Stuckey Ltd., Inc., Kenmore Construction, Kenneth and Melanie Kostura, Darrin and Kathleen Kotecki, Edward Kraft, Brad Lightfoot, Christopher Luzier, Roger and Sue Lyons, Kathleen Malone, M-E Companies,Inc., David and Diana Martin, Donald and Kelli Martin, Gus and Yolanda Mavrigian, McCabe Engineering Corporation, Michael McGlinchy, Dr.Craig and Rhonda Menzemer, Scott Miller, Mosyjowski & Assoc. Engineers, Gerard and Maria Neugebauer, Erwin and Kathleen Odeal, Ohlin & Reed, Inc., PS Construction Fabrics, Inc., Terence and Katherine Parrish, PENTA Building Group, Andrea Rennick, Richard and Julia Rockich, Philip Rohr, Frank and Denise Pavlovicz, Brian and Maria Peterson, Andrea Rennick, Michael and Cynthia Ries, Douglas and Marcy Ritzert, The Ruhlin Company, Simsek and Patricia Sarikelle, Travis and Darcie Saunier, Stephen Schreiber, Shelly Company-Twinsburg Division, Subcontractors Association of NEO, Subcontractors Association of Northeast Ohio, Summit Construction Co., Inc., Summit Testing & Inspection Company, Roger and Linda Swart, Timmerman Geotechnical Group, Inc., Brian and Kathleen Tondra, Triggs Technologies, Inc., URS Corporation, Matthew and Susan Wahl, James and Carol Weber, Angela Wells, Michael and Christine Teodecki, Donald and Melissa Tomasik, Vincent Vrana, Donald Williams



Advisory Council
Chair's Message
Faculty & Staff
Student Groups
COOP Program
Certificate Prgms.
Course Requirements